Penne with Spicy Tomato Sauce
“Penne Arrabbiata”
Arrabbiata means "angry" and this sauce is named for the fiery heat of the crushed hot pepper flakes that are traditionally used in this dish. This multipurpose sauce is often tossed with penne rigate, because the ridged tubes hold the sauce well.
Preparation Time:
10
min
Cooking Time:
40
min
Servings:
4
Ingredients
1/4 cup (50 mL)
olive oil
1 1/2 tsp (7 mL)
crushed hot pepper flakes
1
onion, finely chopped
1 tbsp (15 mL)
finely chopped fresh thyme leaves
6
cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup (125 mL)
dry white wine
1 can (796 mL)
good quality whole tomatoes such as San Marzano
1 tsp (5 mL)
granulated sugar
1 tsp (5 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.)
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Penne Rigate #19
Freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
Method
  1. Heat the oil and hot pepper flakes in a large, deep skillet set over medium heat for 2 minutes. Add the onion, thyme and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the wine and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 2 minutes or until the wine is reduced by half.
  2. Use an immersion blender or food processor to pulse the tomatoes until finely chopped but not puréed; add to the pan. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat and simmer for 30 minutes or until thickened. Stir in the sugar, salt and pepper. Adjust the seasonings to taste.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the penne according to package directions. Toss the hot, drained penne with the sauce to coat. Serve with cheese to taste.
Tips
Adjust the spiciness by increasing or decreasing the crushed hot pepper flakes to taste.
Ingredient Notes
Crushed hot pepper flakes: Although crushed hot pepper flakes are often used as a table garnish at pizza parlors, they are also an essential cooking ingredient in many classic Italian recipes. Typically a combination of dried red peppers, the heat in the peppers intensifies the longer they cook. To neutralize the capsaicin, which is the compound that makes your mouth burn, serve spicy foods with dairy products; the fat in dairy-based foods such as milk, cream or cheese can sooth the fiery burn.
Our chef's suggestions
Baked Penne with Vegetables and Provolone
Linguine Marinara with Mussels
Chifferini with Tomatoes, Basil and Fresh Mozzarella












Penne with Spicy Tomato Sauce

“Penne Arrabbiata”



Preparation time: 10
Cooking time: 40
Servings: 4


Ingredients

1/4 cup (50 mL)
olive oil
1 1/2 tsp (7 mL)
crushed hot pepper flakes
1
onion, finely chopped
1 tbsp (15 mL)
finely chopped fresh thyme leaves
6
cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup (125 mL)
dry white wine
1 can (796 mL)
good quality whole tomatoes such as San Marzano
1 tsp (5 mL)
granulated sugar
1 tsp (5 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.)
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Penne Rigate #19
Freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese



Method

  1. Heat the oil and hot pepper flakes in a large, deep skillet set over medium heat for 2 minutes. Add the onion, thyme and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the wine and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 2 minutes or until the wine is reduced by half.
  2. Use an immersion blender or food processor to pulse the tomatoes until finely chopped but not puréed; add to the pan. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat and simmer for 30 minutes or until thickened. Stir in the sugar, salt and pepper. Adjust the seasonings to taste.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the penne according to package directions. Toss the hot, drained penne with the sauce to coat. Serve with cheese to taste.

Tips

Adjust the spiciness by increasing or decreasing the crushed hot pepper flakes to taste.

Ingredient Notes:

Crushed hot pepper flakes: Although crushed hot pepper flakes are often used as a table garnish at pizza parlors, they are also an essential cooking ingredient in many classic Italian recipes. Typically a combination of dried red peppers, the heat in the peppers intensifies the longer they cook. To neutralize the capsaicin, which is the compound that makes your mouth burn, serve spicy foods with dairy products; the fat in dairy-based foods such as milk, cream or cheese can sooth the fiery burn.

Penne à la sauce tomate piquante
“Penne Arrabbiata”
Arrabbiata signifie « enflammé », et cette sauce est nommée en raison du piquant ardent des flocons de piments rouges traditionnellement utilisés dans ce plat. Cette sauce polyvalente est souvent utilisée avec des penne rigate, car ces tubes creux retiennent bien la sauce.
Temps de Préparation:
10
min
Temps de Cuisson:
40
min
Portions:
4
Ingrédients
1/4 tasse (50 mL)
huile d'olive
1 1/2 c. à thé (7 mL)
flocons de piments rouges
1
oignon, haché fin
1 c. à soupe (15 mL)
feuilles de thym frais, hachées finement
6
gousses d'ail, hachées finement
1/2 tasse (125 mL)
vin blanc sec
1 boîte (796 mL)
tomates entières en conserve de bonne qualité comme San Marzano
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
sucre
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ)
1 lb (454 g)
Penne rigate n° 19 Giovanni PanzaniMC
fromage parmigiano-reggiano, fraîchement râpé
Méthode
  1. Chauffer l'huile et les flocons de piments rouges à feu moyen 2 minutes dans une grande poêle à frire profonde. Ajouter l'oignon, le thym et l'ail. Cuire 5 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté. Ajouter le vin et porter à ébullition. Réduire l'intensité du feu et laisser mijoter 2 minutes ou jusqu’à ce que le vin soit réduit de moitié.
  2. Utiliser un mélangeur à immersion ou un robot culinaire pour hacher finement les tomates par impulsions, sans les rendre en purée; les ajouter ensuite à la poêle. Porter à ébullition; réduire l'intensité du feu et laisser mijoter 30 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe. Incorporer le sucre, le sel et le poivre. Assaisonner au goût.
  3. Entre-temps, préparer les penne selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Enrober les penne égouttés chauds de sauce. Servir avec du fromage au goût.
Trucs
Ajuster le piquant en augmentant ou en diminuant au goût la quantité de flocons de piments rouges.
Notes d'Ingrédients
Flocons de piments rouges : Bien que les flocons de piments rouges soient souvent utilisés aux tables des pizzérias pour garnir les pizzas, ils sont également un ingrédient essentiel dans une foule de recettes italiennes. Normalement un mélange de piments rouges séchés, le piquant des piments s'intensifie au cours de la cuisson. Pour neutraliser la capsaïcine, le composé chimique qui produit la sensation de brûlure dans la bouche, servir les mets piquants accompagnés de produits laitiers; le gras des aliments à base de produits laitiers comme le lait, la crème ou le fromage peut atténuer la brûlure ardente.
Les suggestions de notre chef
Casserole de penne aux légumes et au provolone
Linguine marinara aux moules
Chifferini aux tomates, au basilic et au mozzarella frais












Penne à la sauce tomate piquante

“Penne Arrabbiata”



Temps de Préparation: 10
Temps de cuisson: 40
Portions: 4


Ingrédients

1/4 tasse (50 mL)
huile d'olive
1 1/2 c. à thé (7 mL)
flocons de piments rouges
1
oignon, haché fin
1 c. à soupe (15 mL)
feuilles de thym frais, hachées finement
6
gousses d'ail, hachées finement
1/2 tasse (125 mL)
vin blanc sec
1 boîte (796 mL)
tomates entières en conserve de bonne qualité comme San Marzano
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
sucre
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ)
1 lb (454 g)
Penne rigate n° 19 Giovanni PanzaniMC
fromage parmigiano-reggiano, fraîchement râpé



Méthode

  1. Chauffer l'huile et les flocons de piments rouges à feu moyen 2 minutes dans une grande poêle à frire profonde. Ajouter l'oignon, le thym et l'ail. Cuire 5 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté. Ajouter le vin et porter à ébullition. Réduire l'intensité du feu et laisser mijoter 2 minutes ou jusqu’à ce que le vin soit réduit de moitié.
  2. Utiliser un mélangeur à immersion ou un robot culinaire pour hacher finement les tomates par impulsions, sans les rendre en purée; les ajouter ensuite à la poêle. Porter à ébullition; réduire l'intensité du feu et laisser mijoter 30 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe. Incorporer le sucre, le sel et le poivre. Assaisonner au goût.
  3. Entre-temps, préparer les penne selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Enrober les penne égouttés chauds de sauce. Servir avec du fromage au goût.

Trucs

Ajuster le piquant en augmentant ou en diminuant au goût la quantité de flocons de piments rouges.

Notes d'Ingrédient:

Flocons de piments rouges : Bien que les flocons de piments rouges soient souvent utilisés aux tables des pizzérias pour garnir les pizzas, ils sont également un ingrédient essentiel dans une foule de recettes italiennes. Normalement un mélange de piments rouges séchés, le piquant des piments s'intensifie au cours de la cuisson. Pour neutraliser la capsaïcine, le composé chimique qui produit la sensation de brûlure dans la bouche, servir les mets piquants accompagnés de produits laitiers; le gras des aliments à base de produits laitiers comme le lait, la crème ou le fromage peut atténuer la brûlure ardente.