Linguine with Calamari and Arugula
“Linguine con Calamari e Rucola”
The fresh combination of onion, tomatoes and arugula allows the delicate flavour of the squid to really stand out in this dish. Sardinia produces delicious white wines that pair well with the seafood specialties that are popular in this region.
Preparation Time:
20
min
Cooking Time:
15
min
Servings:
6
Ingredients
1 pkg (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Linguine #10
1/4 cup (50 mL)
olive oil
1 1/2 lb (750 g)
cleaned small squid, with tentacles halved and bodies sliced into rings
1 1/2 cups (375 mL)
thinly sliced red onion
1/3 cup (75 mL)
capers
6
cloves garlic, thinly sliced
3/4 tsp (4 mL)
crushed hot pepper flakes
3/4 tsp (4 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper
3 cups (750 mL)
halved grape or cherry tomatoes
1 cup (250 mL)
thinly sliced, oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
2/3 cup (150 mL)
white wine
6 cups (1.5 L)
chopped, arugula leaves or lightly packed baby arugula
Grated Pecorino Sardo or Romano cheese (optional)
Lemon wedges
Method
  1. Prepare the linguine according to package directions; measure out and reserve 1/2 cup (125 mL) of the cooking water before draining.
  2. Meanwhile, spread the squid out on paper towel and pat dry. Heat the oil in a large, skillet set over medium-high heat. Add the squid, onion, garlic, capers, hot pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Cook for 3 minutes or until softened and fragrant.
  3. Add the grape tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes and wine; cook, for 2 to 3 minutes or until slightly thickened. Add the hot linguine and arugula to the skillet; toss to coat. Moisten with reserved pasta water as needed. Serve with cheese (if using) and lemon wedges. Makes 4 to 6 servings.
Tips
Increase the crushed hot pepper flakes to 1 tsp (5 mL) for a spicier pasta toss. Any long cut of Giovanni Panzani pasta can be used instead of the linguine.
Ingredient Notes
Squid: Canadians are familiar with calamari (which stems from the Italian word for squid) as breaded and deep-fried calamari is popular on restaurant menus. Mainstream preparations for calamari often use just the body, sliced into rings. However, in Italy, many parts of the squid are used in recipes including the arms and tentacles. Squid ink is also edible and used to colour pasta or flavour sauces. Cleaned squid is sold with the inedible beak and gladius (or cartilage) removed. When preparing squid, it is important not to overcook it, otherwise it can become rubbery and tough. For easy preparation, squid rings are available in the freezer section of the supermarket and can be thawed and prepared in the same way as whole squid.
Our chef's suggestions
Capellini with Tomatoes, Olives, Anchovies and Capers
Capellini with Shrimp, Capers and Olives
Roasted Cherry Tomato, Spinach and Asiago Spaghettini












Linguine with Calamari and Arugula

“Linguine con Calamari e Rucola”



Preparation time: 20
Cooking time: 15
Servings: 6


Ingredients

1 pkg (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Linguine #10
1/4 cup (50 mL)
olive oil
1 1/2 lb (750 g)
cleaned small squid, with tentacles halved and bodies sliced into rings
1 1/2 cups (375 mL)
thinly sliced red onion
1/3 cup (75 mL)
capers
6
cloves garlic, thinly sliced
3/4 tsp (4 mL)
crushed hot pepper flakes
3/4 tsp (4 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper
3 cups (750 mL)
halved grape or cherry tomatoes
1 cup (250 mL)
thinly sliced, oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
2/3 cup (150 mL)
white wine
6 cups (1.5 L)
chopped, arugula leaves or lightly packed baby arugula
Grated Pecorino Sardo or Romano cheese (optional)
Lemon wedges



Method

  1. Prepare the linguine according to package directions; measure out and reserve 1/2 cup (125 mL) of the cooking water before draining.
  2. Meanwhile, spread the squid out on paper towel and pat dry. Heat the oil in a large, skillet set over medium-high heat. Add the squid, onion, garlic, capers, hot pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Cook for 3 minutes or until softened and fragrant.
  3. Add the grape tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes and wine; cook, for 2 to 3 minutes or until slightly thickened. Add the hot linguine and arugula to the skillet; toss to coat. Moisten with reserved pasta water as needed. Serve with cheese (if using) and lemon wedges. Makes 4 to 6 servings.

Tips

Increase the crushed hot pepper flakes to 1 tsp (5 mL) for a spicier pasta toss. Any long cut of Giovanni Panzani pasta can be used instead of the linguine.

Ingredient Notes:

Squid: Canadians are familiar with calamari (which stems from the Italian word for squid) as breaded and deep-fried calamari is popular on restaurant menus. Mainstream preparations for calamari often use just the body, sliced into rings. However, in Italy, many parts of the squid are used in recipes including the arms and tentacles. Squid ink is also edible and used to colour pasta or flavour sauces. Cleaned squid is sold with the inedible beak and gladius (or cartilage) removed. When preparing squid, it is important not to overcook it, otherwise it can become rubbery and tough. For easy preparation, squid rings are available in the freezer section of the supermarket and can be thawed and prepared in the same way as whole squid.

Linguine aux calmars et à la roquette
“Linguine con Calamari e Rucola”
Cette combinaison rafraîchissante d'oignon, de tomates et de roquette de ce plat rehausse la saveur délicate des calmars. La Sardaigne produit de délicieux vins blancs qui accompagnent bien les spécialités de fruits de mer populaires de cette région.
Temps de Préparation:
20
min
Temps de Cuisson:
15
min
Portions:
6
Ingrédients
1 emb. (454 g)
Linguine n° 10 Giovanni PanzaniMC
1/4 tasse (50 mL)
huile d'olive
1 1/2 lb (750 g)
petits calmars nettoyés, avec les tentacules coupés en deux et les corps tranchés en anneaux
1 1/2 tasse (375 mL)
oignon rouge, tranché mince
1/3 tasse (75 mL)
câpres
6
gousses d'ail, tranchées minces
3/4 c. à thé (4 mL)
flocons de piments rouges
3/4 c. à thé (4 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin
3 tasses (750 mL))
tomates cerises ou raisins, coupées en deux
1 tasse (250 mL)
tomates séchées au soleil marinées dans l'huile, tranchées minces
2/3 tasse (150 mL)
vin blanc
6 tasses (1,5 L)
feuilles de roquette hachées ou feuilles de roquette bébé légèrement tassées
fromage pecorino sardo ou romano (facultatif)
quartiers de citron
Méthode
  1. Préparer les linguine selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage; réserver 1/2 tasse (125 mL) d'eau de cuisson avant d'égoutter.
  2. Entre-temps, disposer les calmars sur une serviette de papier et les éponger. Chauffer l'huile à feu moyen-vif dans une grande poêle à frire. Ajouter les calmars, l'oignon, l'ail, les câpres, les flocons de piments rouges, le sel et le poivre. Cuire 3 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté et qu'un parfum se dégage.
  3. Ajouter les tomates cerises, les tomates séchées au soleil et le vin; cuire 2 à 3 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe un peu. Ajouter les linguine chauds et la roquette dans la poêle à frire; mélanger pour enrober. Humidifier au besoin avec l'eau de cuisson réservée. Servir accompagné de fromage (si utilisé) et de quartiers de citron. Donne 4 à 6 portions.
Trucs
Augmenter la quantité de flocons de piments rouges à 1 c. à thé (5 mL) pour réaliser un plat de pâtes plus piquant. Utiliser toute variété de pâtes longues Giovanni Panzani plutôt que les linguine.
Notes d'Ingrédients
Calmar : Les Canadiens connaissent les « calamari » (qui signifie « calmar » en italien), les calmars panés et frits étant sont très populaires dans les menus de restaurant. En général, seul le corps des calmars tranché en anneaux est souvent utilisé. Par contre, en Italie, plusieurs parties des calmars sont utilisées dans les recettes, incluant les bras et les tentacules. L'encre des calmars est également comestible et est utilisée pour colorer les pâtes ou rehausser les sauces. Les calmars nettoyés sont vendus sans bec ni plume (ou cartilage) qui sont non comestibles. Lorsqu'ils sont préparés, il est important de ne pas les cuire trop, autrement, ils deviennent caoutchouteux et durs. Afin de faciliter la préparation, les anneaux de calmars sont offerts dans la section des produits surgelés des supermarchés et peuvent être dégelés et préparés comme les calmars entiers.
Les suggestions de notre chef
Capellini aux tomates, aux olives, aux anchois et aux câpres
Capellini aux crevettes, aux câpres et aux olives
Spaghettini à l'asiago, aux épinards et aux tomates cerises grillées












Linguine aux calmars et à la roquette

“Linguine con Calamari e Rucola”



Temps de Préparation: 20
Temps de cuisson: 15
Portions: 6


Ingrédients

1 emb. (454 g)
Linguine n° 10 Giovanni PanzaniMC
1/4 tasse (50 mL)
huile d'olive
1 1/2 lb (750 g)
petits calmars nettoyés, avec les tentacules coupés en deux et les corps tranchés en anneaux
1 1/2 tasse (375 mL)
oignon rouge, tranché mince
1/3 tasse (75 mL)
câpres
6
gousses d'ail, tranchées minces
3/4 c. à thé (4 mL)
flocons de piments rouges
3/4 c. à thé (4 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin
3 tasses (750 mL))
tomates cerises ou raisins, coupées en deux
1 tasse (250 mL)
tomates séchées au soleil marinées dans l'huile, tranchées minces
2/3 tasse (150 mL)
vin blanc
6 tasses (1,5 L)
feuilles de roquette hachées ou feuilles de roquette bébé légèrement tassées
fromage pecorino sardo ou romano (facultatif)
quartiers de citron



Méthode

  1. Préparer les linguine selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage; réserver 1/2 tasse (125 mL) d'eau de cuisson avant d'égoutter.
  2. Entre-temps, disposer les calmars sur une serviette de papier et les éponger. Chauffer l'huile à feu moyen-vif dans une grande poêle à frire. Ajouter les calmars, l'oignon, l'ail, les câpres, les flocons de piments rouges, le sel et le poivre. Cuire 3 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté et qu'un parfum se dégage.
  3. Ajouter les tomates cerises, les tomates séchées au soleil et le vin; cuire 2 à 3 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe un peu. Ajouter les linguine chauds et la roquette dans la poêle à frire; mélanger pour enrober. Humidifier au besoin avec l'eau de cuisson réservée. Servir accompagné de fromage (si utilisé) et de quartiers de citron. Donne 4 à 6 portions.

Trucs

Augmenter la quantité de flocons de piments rouges à 1 c. à thé (5 mL) pour réaliser un plat de pâtes plus piquant. Utiliser toute variété de pâtes longues Giovanni Panzani plutôt que les linguine.

Notes d'Ingrédient:

Calmar : Les Canadiens connaissent les « calamari » (qui signifie « calmar » en italien), les calmars panés et frits étant sont très populaires dans les menus de restaurant. En général, seul le corps des calmars tranché en anneaux est souvent utilisé. Par contre, en Italie, plusieurs parties des calmars sont utilisées dans les recettes, incluant les bras et les tentacules. L'encre des calmars est également comestible et est utilisée pour colorer les pâtes ou rehausser les sauces. Les calmars nettoyés sont vendus sans bec ni plume (ou cartilage) qui sont non comestibles. Lorsqu'ils sont préparés, il est important de ne pas les cuire trop, autrement, ils deviennent caoutchouteux et durs. Afin de faciliter la préparation, les anneaux de calmars sont offerts dans la section des produits surgelés des supermarchés et peuvent être dégelés et préparés comme les calmars entiers.