Fusilli with Basil Pesto, Roasted Pepper and Artichokes
“Fusilli con Basilico Pesto, Pepe Rosso e Carciofo”
Pesto gets its name from the word pestle (as in mortar and pestle) the traditional tool for grinding up the ingredients into a paste. The classic (Genovese) version is made with basil, garlic, lemon, pine nuts and sometimes grated Parmesan cheese. Other versions include tomatoes or olives.
Preparation Time:
15
min
Cooking Time:
10
min
Servings:
4
Ingredients
1 1/2 cups (375 mL)
packed fresh basil leaves
3/4 cup (175 mL)
packed fresh parsley leaves
1/4 cup (50 mL)
finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (approx.)
2 tbsp (30 mL)
toasted pine nuts (optional)
1 tbsp (15 mL)
fresh lemon juice
2
cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
1/2 tsp (2 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.)
1/3 cup (75 mL)
extra virgin olive oil
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Fusilli #102
3
roasted red peppers (see tip below), thinly sliced
1 1/2 cups (375 mL)
drained, marinated artichoke hearts, chopped
Lemon wedges
Method
  1. Place the basil, parsley, cheese, pine nuts, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper in the bowl of a food processor; pulse until finely chopped. With the motor running, slowly drizzle in the oil; process until smooth. Adjust the seasonings to taste.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare the fusilli according to package directions. Toss the hot, drained fusilli with the pesto, roasted red peppers and artichoke hearts. Serve with lemon wedges and additional cheese (to taste).
Tips
To roast the peppers, place under a hot broiler or on a hot grill, turning frequently, for 20 to 30 minutes or until the skins are blackened and the peppers are tender. Transfer to a bowl, tightly cover and let stand for 15 minutes to loosen skins. Peel and discard skins. For faster preparation, jarred roasted red peppers can also be used. Double the pesto and reserve, tightly covered, in the refrigerator for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 1 month to toss with hot, cooked pasta anytime.
Ingredient Notes
Basil: A member of the mint family, basil plays a prominent role in Italian cuisine. Grown in Mediterranean regions since antiquity, basil is also popular in Asian cuisines. It is available in many varieties including Thai, purple and lemon; however, sweet basil, which has a delicate anise-like flavour, is used predominantly in Italian cookery. Dried basil can be used in long simmering sauces; but, for better flavour use fresh, adding it at the end of the cooking time.
Our chef's suggestions
Tagliatelle with Roasted Squash and Sage Butter Sauce
Baked Penne with Vegetables and Provolone
Chifferini with Beans












Fusilli with Basil Pesto, Roasted Pepper and Artichokes

“Fusilli con Basilico Pesto, Pepe Rosso e Carciofo”



Preparation time: 15
Cooking time: 10
Servings: 4


Ingredients

1 1/2 cups (375 mL)
packed fresh basil leaves
3/4 cup (175 mL)
packed fresh parsley leaves
1/4 cup (50 mL)
finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (approx.)
2 tbsp (30 mL)
toasted pine nuts (optional)
1 tbsp (15 mL)
fresh lemon juice
2
cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
1/2 tsp (2 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.)
1/3 cup (75 mL)
extra virgin olive oil
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Fusilli #102
3
roasted red peppers (see tip below), thinly sliced
1 1/2 cups (375 mL)
drained, marinated artichoke hearts, chopped
Lemon wedges



Method

  1. Place the basil, parsley, cheese, pine nuts, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper in the bowl of a food processor; pulse until finely chopped. With the motor running, slowly drizzle in the oil; process until smooth. Adjust the seasonings to taste.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare the fusilli according to package directions. Toss the hot, drained fusilli with the pesto, roasted red peppers and artichoke hearts. Serve with lemon wedges and additional cheese (to taste).

Tips

To roast the peppers, place under a hot broiler or on a hot grill, turning frequently, for 20 to 30 minutes or until the skins are blackened and the peppers are tender. Transfer to a bowl, tightly cover and let stand for 15 minutes to loosen skins. Peel and discard skins. For faster preparation, jarred roasted red peppers can also be used. Double the pesto and reserve, tightly covered, in the refrigerator for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 1 month to toss with hot, cooked pasta anytime.

Ingredient Notes:

Basil: A member of the mint family, basil plays a prominent role in Italian cuisine. Grown in Mediterranean regions since antiquity, basil is also popular in Asian cuisines. It is available in many varieties including Thai, purple and lemon; however, sweet basil, which has a delicate anise-like flavour, is used predominantly in Italian cookery. Dried basil can be used in long simmering sauces; but, for better flavour use fresh, adding it at the end of the cooking time.

Fusilli au pesto au basilic, aux poivrons grillés et aux artichauts
“Fusilli con Basilico Pesto, Pepe Rosso e Carciofo”
« Pesto » provient du mot pestle (comme dans mortier et pilon), un outil traditionnel utilisé pour broyer les ingrédients et réaliser une pâte. La version classique (genovese) est préparée avec du basilic, de l'ail, du citron, des pignons de pin et parfois du fromage parmesan râpé. D'autres variétés incluent des tomates ou des olives.
Temps de Préparation:
15
min
Temps de Cuisson:
10
min
Portions:
4
Ingrédients
1 1/2 tasse (375 mL)
feuilles de basilic frais, tassées
3/4 tasse (175 mL)
persil frais, tassé
1/4 tasse (50 mL)
fromage parmigiano-reggiano, fraîchement râpé (environ)
2 c. à soupe (30 mL)
pignons grillés (facultatif)
1 c. à soupe (15 mL)
jus de citron frais
2
gousses d'ail, hachées grossièrement
1/2 c. à thé (2 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ)
1/3 tasse (75 mL)
huile d’olive extra vierge
1 lb (454 g)
Fusilli n° 102 Giovanni PanzaniMC
3
poivrons rouges grillés (voir les astuces ci-dessous), tranchés minces
1 1/2 tasse (375 mL)
coeurs d'artichaut marinés, égouttés et hachés
quartiers de citron
Méthode
  1. Placer le basilic, le persil, le fromage, les pignons, le jus de citron, l'ail, le sel et le poivre dans le bol d'un robot culinaire; mélanger quelques secondes pour hacher finement. Avec le moteur en marche, incorporer lentement l'huile d'olive; mélanger jusqu'à ce que le tout soit onctueux. Assaisonner au goût.
  2. Entre-temps, cuire les fusilli selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Mélanger les fusilli égouttés chauds avec le pesto, les poivrons rouges grillés et les coeurs d'artichaut. Servir avec les quartiers de citron et du fromage additionnel (au goût).
Trucs
Pour griller les poivrons, les placer sous un gril chaud et cuire, en les tournant souvent, 20 à 30 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que les pelures soient noircies et que les poivrons soient tendres. Placer dans un bol, couvrir hermétiquement et laisser reposer 15 minutes pour décoller la pelure. Peler les poivrons et jeter les pelures. Pour accélérer la préparation, on peut utiliser des poivrons rouges grillés en pot. Doubler la recette de pesto et placer, dans un contenant hermétique, au réfrigérateur jusqu'à 3 jours ou au congélateur jusqu'à 1 mois pour mélanger aux pâtes cuites et chaudes à n'importe quel moment.
Notes d'Ingrédients
Basilic : Membre de la famille des menthes, le basilic joue un rôle important dans la cuisine italienne. Cultivé dans les régions méditerranéennes depuis l'Antiquité, le basilic est également populaire dans les cuisines asiatiques. Il est offert en plusieurs variétés, incluant thaï, pourpre et citron; cependant, le basilic au parfum doux, qui propose une saveur délicate de réglisse, est utilisé avant tout dans la cuisine italienne. Le basilic séché peut être utilisé dans les sauces mijotées longtemps; mais, pour une meilleure saveur, utiliser du basilic frais et l'ajouter à la fin de la cuisson.
Les suggestions de notre chef
Tagliatelle à la courge grillée et à la sauce au beurre de sauge
Casserole de penne aux légumes et au provolone
Chifferini aux haricots












Fusilli au pesto au basilic, aux poivrons grillés et aux artichauts

“Fusilli con Basilico Pesto, Pepe Rosso e Carciofo”



Temps de Préparation: 15
Temps de cuisson: 10
Portions: 4


Ingrédients

1 1/2 tasse (375 mL)
feuilles de basilic frais, tassées
3/4 tasse (175 mL)
persil frais, tassé
1/4 tasse (50 mL)
fromage parmigiano-reggiano, fraîchement râpé (environ)
2 c. à soupe (30 mL)
pignons grillés (facultatif)
1 c. à soupe (15 mL)
jus de citron frais
2
gousses d'ail, hachées grossièrement
1/2 c. à thé (2 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ)
1/3 tasse (75 mL)
huile d’olive extra vierge
1 lb (454 g)
Fusilli n° 102 Giovanni PanzaniMC
3
poivrons rouges grillés (voir les astuces ci-dessous), tranchés minces
1 1/2 tasse (375 mL)
coeurs d'artichaut marinés, égouttés et hachés
quartiers de citron



Méthode

  1. Placer le basilic, le persil, le fromage, les pignons, le jus de citron, l'ail, le sel et le poivre dans le bol d'un robot culinaire; mélanger quelques secondes pour hacher finement. Avec le moteur en marche, incorporer lentement l'huile d'olive; mélanger jusqu'à ce que le tout soit onctueux. Assaisonner au goût.
  2. Entre-temps, cuire les fusilli selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Mélanger les fusilli égouttés chauds avec le pesto, les poivrons rouges grillés et les coeurs d'artichaut. Servir avec les quartiers de citron et du fromage additionnel (au goût).

Trucs

Pour griller les poivrons, les placer sous un gril chaud et cuire, en les tournant souvent, 20 à 30 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que les pelures soient noircies et que les poivrons soient tendres. Placer dans un bol, couvrir hermétiquement et laisser reposer 15 minutes pour décoller la pelure. Peler les poivrons et jeter les pelures. Pour accélérer la préparation, on peut utiliser des poivrons rouges grillés en pot. Doubler la recette de pesto et placer, dans un contenant hermétique, au réfrigérateur jusqu'à 3 jours ou au congélateur jusqu'à 1 mois pour mélanger aux pâtes cuites et chaudes à n'importe quel moment.

Notes d'Ingrédient:

Basilic : Membre de la famille des menthes, le basilic joue un rôle important dans la cuisine italienne. Cultivé dans les régions méditerranéennes depuis l'Antiquité, le basilic est également populaire dans les cuisines asiatiques. Il est offert en plusieurs variétés, incluant thaï, pourpre et citron; cependant, le basilic au parfum doux, qui propose une saveur délicate de réglisse, est utilisé avant tout dans la cuisine italienne. Le basilic séché peut être utilisé dans les sauces mijotées longtemps; mais, pour une meilleure saveur, utiliser du basilic frais et l'ajouter à la fin de la cuisson.