Eggplant Parmesan
“Melanzane alla Parmigiana”
One of the classic preparations of Southern Italy, Eggplant Parmesan is especially popular in Naples and Sicily. Sometimes grilled, sometimes fried, this version is lightly breaded with bread crumbs and cheese before frying. A simple tomato sauce dresses the eggplant and the accompanying spaghetti for a delicious, meatless meal.
Preparation Time:
20
min
Cooking Time:
45
min
Servings:
6
Ingredients
1/3 cup (75 mL)
olive oil (approx.), divided
1
onion, finely chopped
3
cloves garlic, minced
2 cans (796 mL each)
good quality whole tomatoes
1
bay leaf
2 tsp (10 mL)
dried oregano leaves, divided
1 1/2 tsp (7 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.), divided
1 cup (250 mL)
freshly grated Parmigian-Reggiano cheese (approx.), divided
3/4 cup (175 mL)
plain dry breadcrumbs
1 tsp (5 mL)
dried basil leaves
1/2 cup (125 mL)
all-purpose flour
1
large eggplant, sliced into about 12 pieces, 1/2-inch (1 cm) thick
3
eggs, beaten
1 cup (250 mL)
shredded mozzarella cheese
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Spaghetti #5
Method
  1. Heat 1 tbsp (15 mL) oil in a large saucepan set over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the tomatoes, bay leaf, half the oregano and 1/2 tsp (2 mL) each salt and pepper. Break up the tomatoes with a potato masher or spoon. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat and simmer, stirring often, for 25 to 30 minutes or until thickened. Discard the bay leaf.
  2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C). Combine 3/4 cup (175 mL) Parmigiana-Reggiano cheese with the breadcrumbs, remaining oregano and basil and 1/2 tsp (2 mL) each salt and pepper in a shallow dish until well blended. Stir the flour with the remaining salt and pepper in a separate shallow dish. Beat the eggs with 1 tbsp (15 mL) water in a third shallow dish.
  3. Coat the eggplant slices first in flour, then in egg and then evenly in the breadcrumb mixture. (Discard any leftover coating ingredients.) Heat 2 tbsp (30 mL) olive oil in a large, nonstick skillet set over medium-high heat. In batches, brown the eggplant, for 2 minutes per side or until golden; transfer to a paper towel-lined plate. (Add additional oil between batches as needed and reduce heat to medium if pan becomes too hot).
  4. Arrange the eggplant on a baking sheet in six sets with two overlapping pieces each; spread 1/3 cup (75 mL) tomato sauce down the centre of each set. Sprinkle with mozzarella and remaining Parmiginao-Reggiano cheeses. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until the eggplant is tender and the cheese is melted. Broil for 3 to 5 minutes or until browned.
  5. Meanwhile, prepare the spaghetti according to package directions. Toss the hot, drained spaghetti with the remaining tomato sauce. Serve with the eggplant and extra cheese to taste.
Tips
Store dry breadcrumbs in the freezer to keep them fresher, longer.
Ingredient Notes
Eggplant is common in Italian cooking, especially in the southern regions. A variety of methods are used to achieve a nice texture and avoid the bitterness that is typically associated with eggplant. Frying is popular, however, eggplant can absorb quite a bit of oil; breading eggplant prevents much of the oil from soaking in. It is also helpful to use a nonstick skillet to prevent the eggplant from sticking. Salting the eggplant can release some of the bitter juices. And soaking eggplant (like in the Lamb and Eggplant Ragu) can produce a plumper texture.
Our chef's suggestions
Baked Penne with Vegetables and Provolone
Penne with Lamb and Eggplant Ragu
Capellini with Tomatoes, Olives, Anchovies and Capers












Eggplant Parmesan

“Melanzane alla Parmigiana”



Preparation time: 20
Cooking time: 45
Servings: 6


Ingredients

1/3 cup (75 mL)
olive oil (approx.), divided
1
onion, finely chopped
3
cloves garlic, minced
2 cans (796 mL each)
good quality whole tomatoes
1
bay leaf
2 tsp (10 mL)
dried oregano leaves, divided
1 1/2 tsp (7 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.), divided
1 cup (250 mL)
freshly grated Parmigian-Reggiano cheese (approx.), divided
3/4 cup (175 mL)
plain dry breadcrumbs
1 tsp (5 mL)
dried basil leaves
1/2 cup (125 mL)
all-purpose flour
1
large eggplant, sliced into about 12 pieces, 1/2-inch (1 cm) thick
3
eggs, beaten
1 cup (250 mL)
shredded mozzarella cheese
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Spaghetti #5



Method

  1. Heat 1 tbsp (15 mL) oil in a large saucepan set over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the tomatoes, bay leaf, half the oregano and 1/2 tsp (2 mL) each salt and pepper. Break up the tomatoes with a potato masher or spoon. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat and simmer, stirring often, for 25 to 30 minutes or until thickened. Discard the bay leaf.
  2. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 375°F (190°C). Combine 3/4 cup (175 mL) Parmigiana-Reggiano cheese with the breadcrumbs, remaining oregano and basil and 1/2 tsp (2 mL) each salt and pepper in a shallow dish until well blended. Stir the flour with the remaining salt and pepper in a separate shallow dish. Beat the eggs with 1 tbsp (15 mL) water in a third shallow dish.
  3. Coat the eggplant slices first in flour, then in egg and then evenly in the breadcrumb mixture. (Discard any leftover coating ingredients.) Heat 2 tbsp (30 mL) olive oil in a large, nonstick skillet set over medium-high heat. In batches, brown the eggplant, for 2 minutes per side or until golden; transfer to a paper towel-lined plate. (Add additional oil between batches as needed and reduce heat to medium if pan becomes too hot).
  4. Arrange the eggplant on a baking sheet in six sets with two overlapping pieces each; spread 1/3 cup (75 mL) tomato sauce down the centre of each set. Sprinkle with mozzarella and remaining Parmiginao-Reggiano cheeses. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until the eggplant is tender and the cheese is melted. Broil for 3 to 5 minutes or until browned.
  5. Meanwhile, prepare the spaghetti according to package directions. Toss the hot, drained spaghetti with the remaining tomato sauce. Serve with the eggplant and extra cheese to taste.

Tips

Store dry breadcrumbs in the freezer to keep them fresher, longer.

Ingredient Notes:

Eggplant is common in Italian cooking, especially in the southern regions. A variety of methods are used to achieve a nice texture and avoid the bitterness that is typically associated with eggplant. Frying is popular, however, eggplant can absorb quite a bit of oil; breading eggplant prevents much of the oil from soaking in. It is also helpful to use a nonstick skillet to prevent the eggplant from sticking. Salting the eggplant can release some of the bitter juices. And soaking eggplant (like in the Lamb and Eggplant Ragu) can produce a plumper texture.

Aubergine au parmesan
“Melanzane alla Parmigiana”
Un des plats classiques du sud de l'Italie, l'aubergine au parmesan est très populaire à Naples et en Sicile. Parfois grillée ou frite, l'aubergine de cette recette est légèrement panée de chapelure et de fromage avant sa friture. Une sauce tomate simple habille l'aubergine et les spaghetti en accompagnement pour créer un repas sans viande délicieux.
Temps de Préparation:
20
min
Temps de Cuisson:
45
min
Portions:
6
Ingrédients
1/3 tasse (75 mL)
huile d'olive (environ), divisée
1
oignon, haché finement
3
gousses d'ail, émincées
2 boîtes (796 mL chacune)
tomates entières de bonne qualité
1
feuille de laurier
2 c.thé (10 mL)
feuilles d'origan séché, divisées
1 1/2 c. à thé (7 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ), divisés
1 tasse (250 mL)
fromage parmigiano-reggiano, fraîchement râpé (environ), divisé
3/4 tasse (175 mL)
chapelure ordinaire
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
feuilles de basilic séché
1/2 tasse (125 mL)
farine tout usage
1
grosse aubergine, en 12 tranches environ de 1/2 po (1 cm) d'épaisseur
3
oeufs, battus
1 tasse (250 mL)
fromage mozzarella, râpé
1 lb (454 g)
Spaghetti n° 5 Giovanni PanzaniMC
Méthode
  1. Chauffer 1 c. à table (15 mL) d'huile à feu moyen dans un grand poêlon. Ajouter l'oignon et l'ail. Cuire 5 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté. Ajouter les tomates, la feuille de laurier, la moitié de l'origan et 1/2 c. à thé (2 mL) chacun de sel et de poivre. Défaire les tomates en utilisant un pilon à pommes de terre ou une cuillère. Porter à ébullition; réduire l'intensité du feu et laisser mijoter, en remuant souvent, 25 à 30 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe. Jeter la feuille de laurier.
  2. Entre-temps, préchauffer le four à 375°F (190°C). Bien mélanger 3/4 tasse (175 mL) de fromage parmigiana-reggiano avec la chapelure, le reste de l'origan et du basilic, et 1/2 c. à thé (2 mL) chacun de sel et de poivre, dans un bol profond. Mélanger la farine et le reste du sel et du poivre dans un autre bol profond. Battre les oeufs et 1 c. à table (15 mL) d'eau dans un troisième bol profond.
  3. Tremper les tranches d'aubergine dans la farine, puis dans l'oeuf pour les enrober uniformément du mélange à la chapelure. (Jeter tout reste d'ingrédients utilisés pour la panure.) Chauffer 2 c. à soupe (30 mL) d'huile d'olive à feu moyen-vif dans une grande poêle à frire antiadhésive. Faire frire les tranches d'aubergine en lots, 2 minutes par côté ou jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient dorées; placer dans une assiette recouverte de serviettes de papier. (Ajouter au besoin de l'huile entre les lots et réduire l'intensité du feu à moyen si la poêle devient trop chaude.)
  4. Disposer les tranches d'aubergine sur une tôle à biscuits en six groupes de deux tranches se chevauchant; napper de 1/3 de tasse (75 mL) de sauce tomate depuis le centre de chaque groupe. Garnir de fromage mozzarella et du reste de fromage parmigiano-reggiano. Cuire 15 à 20 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que les tranches d'aubergines soient tendres et que le fromage soit fondu. Griller 3 à 5 minutes ou jusqu'à ce le tout soit doré.
  5. Entre-temps, préparer les spaghetti selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Mélanger les spaghetti égouttés chauds avec le reste de sauce tomate. Servir avec les tranches d'aubergine et du fromage supplémentaire au goût.
Trucs
Conserver la chapelure au congélateur pour en assurer la fraîcheur plus longtemps.
Notes d'Ingrédients
Aubergine : On retrouve souvent l'aubergine dans la cuisine italienne, plus spécifiquement dans les régions du sud. Plusieurs méthodes sont utilisées pour obtenir une bonne texture et éviter le goût amer associé normalement aux aubergines. Les aubergines frites sont populaires; par contre, elles peuvent absorber beaucoup d'huile. La panure des aubergines panées empêche beaucoup cette absorption d'huile. Il s'avère également pratique d'utiliser une poêle antiadhésive pour empêcher les aubergines de coller. Saler les aubergines peut faire ressortir certains des jus amers. Le trempage des aubergines (comme dans le ragoût d'agneau et d'aubergines) peut produire une texture plus tendre.
Les suggestions de notre chef
Casserole de penne aux légumes et au provolone
Penne et ragoût d'agneau et d'aubergines
Capellini aux tomates, aux olives, aux anchois et aux câpres












Aubergine au parmesan

“Melanzane alla Parmigiana”



Temps de Préparation: 20
Temps de cuisson: 45
Portions: 6


Ingrédients

1/3 tasse (75 mL)
huile d'olive (environ), divisée
1
oignon, haché finement
3
gousses d'ail, émincées
2 boîtes (796 mL chacune)
tomates entières de bonne qualité
1
feuille de laurier
2 c.thé (10 mL)
feuilles d'origan séché, divisées
1 1/2 c. à thé (7 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ), divisés
1 tasse (250 mL)
fromage parmigiano-reggiano, fraîchement râpé (environ), divisé
3/4 tasse (175 mL)
chapelure ordinaire
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
feuilles de basilic séché
1/2 tasse (125 mL)
farine tout usage
1
grosse aubergine, en 12 tranches environ de 1/2 po (1 cm) d'épaisseur
3
oeufs, battus
1 tasse (250 mL)
fromage mozzarella, râpé
1 lb (454 g)
Spaghetti n° 5 Giovanni PanzaniMC



Méthode

  1. Chauffer 1 c. à table (15 mL) d'huile à feu moyen dans un grand poêlon. Ajouter l'oignon et l'ail. Cuire 5 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté. Ajouter les tomates, la feuille de laurier, la moitié de l'origan et 1/2 c. à thé (2 mL) chacun de sel et de poivre. Défaire les tomates en utilisant un pilon à pommes de terre ou une cuillère. Porter à ébullition; réduire l'intensité du feu et laisser mijoter, en remuant souvent, 25 à 30 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe. Jeter la feuille de laurier.
  2. Entre-temps, préchauffer le four à 375°F (190°C). Bien mélanger 3/4 tasse (175 mL) de fromage parmigiana-reggiano avec la chapelure, le reste de l'origan et du basilic, et 1/2 c. à thé (2 mL) chacun de sel et de poivre, dans un bol profond. Mélanger la farine et le reste du sel et du poivre dans un autre bol profond. Battre les oeufs et 1 c. à table (15 mL) d'eau dans un troisième bol profond.
  3. Tremper les tranches d'aubergine dans la farine, puis dans l'oeuf pour les enrober uniformément du mélange à la chapelure. (Jeter tout reste d'ingrédients utilisés pour la panure.) Chauffer 2 c. à soupe (30 mL) d'huile d'olive à feu moyen-vif dans une grande poêle à frire antiadhésive. Faire frire les tranches d'aubergine en lots, 2 minutes par côté ou jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient dorées; placer dans une assiette recouverte de serviettes de papier. (Ajouter au besoin de l'huile entre les lots et réduire l'intensité du feu à moyen si la poêle devient trop chaude.)
  4. Disposer les tranches d'aubergine sur une tôle à biscuits en six groupes de deux tranches se chevauchant; napper de 1/3 de tasse (75 mL) de sauce tomate depuis le centre de chaque groupe. Garnir de fromage mozzarella et du reste de fromage parmigiano-reggiano. Cuire 15 à 20 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que les tranches d'aubergines soient tendres et que le fromage soit fondu. Griller 3 à 5 minutes ou jusqu'à ce le tout soit doré.
  5. Entre-temps, préparer les spaghetti selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Mélanger les spaghetti égouttés chauds avec le reste de sauce tomate. Servir avec les tranches d'aubergine et du fromage supplémentaire au goût.

Trucs

Conserver la chapelure au congélateur pour en assurer la fraîcheur plus longtemps.

Notes d'Ingrédient:

Aubergine : On retrouve souvent l'aubergine dans la cuisine italienne, plus spécifiquement dans les régions du sud. Plusieurs méthodes sont utilisées pour obtenir une bonne texture et éviter le goût amer associé normalement aux aubergines. Les aubergines frites sont populaires; par contre, elles peuvent absorber beaucoup d'huile. La panure des aubergines panées empêche beaucoup cette absorption d'huile. Il s'avère également pratique d'utiliser une poêle antiadhésive pour empêcher les aubergines de coller. Saler les aubergines peut faire ressortir certains des jus amers. Le trempage des aubergines (comme dans le ragoût d'agneau et d'aubergines) peut produire une texture plus tendre.