Baked Penne with Vegetables and Provolone
“Penne Al Forno Vegetale e Provelone”
This meatless casserole is less fussy to prepare than lasagna, making it a great weeknight dinner or a delicious addition to any buffet when entertaining guests. Loaded with vegetables and gooey cheese, it will be a family favourite.
Preparation Time:
20
min
Cooking Time:
45
min
Servings:
6 to 8
Ingredients
1/4 cup (50 mL)
olive oil
1
each onion and red pepper, chopped
3
cloves garlic, minced
2 cups (500 mL)
each cubed eggplant and zucchini
3/4 tsp (4 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.)
1
bay leaf
1 can (796 mL)
whole good quality whole tomatoes such as San Marzano
1 tsp (5 mL)
each granulated sugar and red wine vinegar
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Penne Rigate # 20
8 oz (250 g)
shredded provolone or mozzarella cheese
Method
  1. Heat the oil in a Dutch oven or large saucepan set over medium heat. Add the onion, red pepper, garlic, eggplant, zucchini, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, for 10 minutes or until tender.
  2. Add the tomatoes and bay leaf; break up the tomatoes with a potato masher or spoon. Simmer for 10 minutes or until thickened; discard bay leaf. Stir in the sugar and red wine vinegar. Adjust seasonings to taste.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the penne according to package directions. Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C). Toss the hot, drained pasta with the vegetable sauce. Transfer into a lightly greased 12-cup (3 L) casserole dish. Sprinkle evenly with the cheese. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.
Tips
This casserole can be made ahead and stored, tightly covered in the refrigerator for up to 2 days or in the freezer for up to 2 months (thaw before baking). Increase the baking time by 10 minutes when heating the chilled casserole.
Ingredient Notes
Provolone: Although it originated in Southern Italy, provolone cheese is now predominantly produced in the Northern regions of Lombardia and Veneto. It is a mild, stretched, cow's milk cheese and also available aged and smoked. Provolone is much like mozzarella cheese in flavour and melting quality so they can easily be exchanged for one another.
Our chef's suggestions
Eggplant Parmesan
Penne with Lamb and Eggplant Ragu
Fusilli with Basil Pesto, Roasted Pepper and Artichokes












Baked Penne with Vegetables and Provolone

“Penne Al Forno Vegetale e Provelone”



Preparation time: 20
Cooking time: 45
Servings: 6 to 8


Ingredients

1/4 cup (50 mL)
olive oil
1
each onion and red pepper, chopped
3
cloves garlic, minced
2 cups (500 mL)
each cubed eggplant and zucchini
3/4 tsp (4 mL)
each salt and freshly ground pepper (approx.)
1
bay leaf
1 can (796 mL)
whole good quality whole tomatoes such as San Marzano
1 tsp (5 mL)
each granulated sugar and red wine vinegar
1 lb (454 g)
Giovanni Panzani Penne Rigate # 20
8 oz (250 g)
shredded provolone or mozzarella cheese



Method

  1. Heat the oil in a Dutch oven or large saucepan set over medium heat. Add the onion, red pepper, garlic, eggplant, zucchini, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, for 10 minutes or until tender.
  2. Add the tomatoes and bay leaf; break up the tomatoes with a potato masher or spoon. Simmer for 10 minutes or until thickened; discard bay leaf. Stir in the sugar and red wine vinegar. Adjust seasonings to taste.
  3. Meanwhile, prepare the penne according to package directions. Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C). Toss the hot, drained pasta with the vegetable sauce. Transfer into a lightly greased 12-cup (3 L) casserole dish. Sprinkle evenly with the cheese. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Tips

This casserole can be made ahead and stored, tightly covered in the refrigerator for up to 2 days or in the freezer for up to 2 months (thaw before baking). Increase the baking time by 10 minutes when heating the chilled casserole.

Ingredient Notes:

Provolone: Although it originated in Southern Italy, provolone cheese is now predominantly produced in the Northern regions of Lombardia and Veneto. It is a mild, stretched, cow's milk cheese and also available aged and smoked. Provolone is much like mozzarella cheese in flavour and melting quality so they can easily be exchanged for one another.

Casserole de penne aux légumes et au provolone
“Penne Al Forno Vegetale e Provelone”
Cette casserole sans viande moins difficile à préparer qu'une lasagne est idéale pour les dîners de semaine ou comme plat supplémentaire à tout buffet destiné aux invités. Surchargée de légumes et de fromage fondant, cette casserole sera la favorite de toute la famille.
Temps de Préparation:
20
min
Temps de Cuisson:
45
min
Portions:
6 to 8
Ingrédients
1/4 cup (50 mL)
huile d'olive
1
chacun : oignon et poivron rouge, hachés
3
gousses d'ail, émincées
2 tasses (500 mL)
chacun : aubergine et courgette, en cubes
3/4 c. à thé (4 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ)
1 boîte (796 mL)
tomates entières en conserve de bonne qualité comme San Marzano
1
feuille de laurier
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
chacun : sucre et vinaigre de vin rouge
1 lb (454 g)
Penne rigate n° 19 Giovanni PanzaniMC
8 oz (250 g)
fromage provolone ou mozzarella, râpé
Méthode
  1. Chauffer l'huile à feu moyen dans un fait-tout ou un grand poêlon. Ajouter l'oignon, le poivron rouge, l'ail, l'aubergine, la courgette, le sel et le poivre. Cuire, en remuant, 10 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté.
  2. Ajouter les tomates et la feuille de laurier; défaire les tomates en utilisant un pilon à pommes de terre ou une cuillère. Laisser mijoter 10 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe. Incorporer le sucre et le vinaigre de vin rouge. Assaisonner au goût.
  3. Entre-temps, préparer les penne selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Préchauffer le four à 350 °F (180 °C). Enrober les pâtes égouttées chaudes de sauce aux légumes. Verser dans une casserole de 12 tasses (3 L) légèrement graissée. Garnir uniformément de fromage. Cuire 20 à 25 minutes ou jusqu’à ce que le tout soit bien chaud ou que des bulles se forment à la surface. Laisser reposer 5 minutes avant de servir.
Trucs
Cette casserole peut être préparée à l'avance et conservée dans un contenant hermétique au réfrigérateur jusqu'à 2 jours ou au congélateur jusqu'à 2 mois (dégeler avant de cuire). Prolonger le temps de cuisson d’une casserole dégelée de 10 minutes.
Notes d'Ingrédients
Provolone : Bien qu'il soit originaire du sud de l'Italie, le fromage provolone est produit principalement dans les régions du nord (Lombardie et Vénétie). Ce fromage de lait de vache à pâte étirée est doux et est offert vieilli et fumé. Le fromage provolone propose une saveur et une qualité de fonte semblables à celles du fromage mozzarella; c'est pourquoi il est facile de substituer l'un pour l'autre.
Les suggestions de notre chef
Aubergine au parmesan
Penne et ragoût d'agneau et d'aubergines
Fusilli au pesto au basilic, aux poivrons grillés et aux artichauts












Casserole de penne aux légumes et au provolone

“Penne Al Forno Vegetale e Provelone”



Temps de Préparation: 20
Temps de cuisson: 45
Portions: 6 to 8


Ingrédients

1/4 cup (50 mL)
huile d'olive
1
chacun : oignon et poivron rouge, hachés
3
gousses d'ail, émincées
2 tasses (500 mL)
chacun : aubergine et courgette, en cubes
3/4 c. à thé (4 mL)
chacun : sel et poivre du moulin (environ)
1 boîte (796 mL)
tomates entières en conserve de bonne qualité comme San Marzano
1
feuille de laurier
1 c. à thé (5 mL)
chacun : sucre et vinaigre de vin rouge
1 lb (454 g)
Penne rigate n° 19 Giovanni PanzaniMC
8 oz (250 g)
fromage provolone ou mozzarella, râpé



Méthode

  1. Chauffer l'huile à feu moyen dans un fait-tout ou un grand poêlon. Ajouter l'oignon, le poivron rouge, l'ail, l'aubergine, la courgette, le sel et le poivre. Cuire, en remuant, 10 minutes ou jusqu'à tendreté.
  2. Ajouter les tomates et la feuille de laurier; défaire les tomates en utilisant un pilon à pommes de terre ou une cuillère. Laisser mijoter 10 minutes ou jusqu'à ce que la sauce épaississe. Incorporer le sucre et le vinaigre de vin rouge. Assaisonner au goût.
  3. Entre-temps, préparer les penne selon les instructions figurant sur l'emballage. Préchauffer le four à 350 °F (180 °C). Enrober les pâtes égouttées chaudes de sauce aux légumes. Verser dans une casserole de 12 tasses (3 L) légèrement graissée. Garnir uniformément de fromage. Cuire 20 à 25 minutes ou jusqu’à ce que le tout soit bien chaud ou que des bulles se forment à la surface. Laisser reposer 5 minutes avant de servir.

Trucs

Cette casserole peut être préparée à l'avance et conservée dans un contenant hermétique au réfrigérateur jusqu'à 2 jours ou au congélateur jusqu'à 2 mois (dégeler avant de cuire). Prolonger le temps de cuisson d’une casserole dégelée de 10 minutes.

Notes d'Ingrédient:

Provolone : Bien qu'il soit originaire du sud de l'Italie, le fromage provolone est produit principalement dans les régions du nord (Lombardie et Vénétie). Ce fromage de lait de vache à pâte étirée est doux et est offert vieilli et fumé. Le fromage provolone propose une saveur et une qualité de fonte semblables à celles du fromage mozzarella; c'est pourquoi il est facile de substituer l'un pour l'autre.